The Brochures

After having finished the sketches, I had a rough idea of what I wanted from this project.

The main goals:
Sell veganism in a non pushy way
Create design that appeals to all ages, families – young and old
Outline the benefits

From this, I created a bunch of sketches to encompass the ‘bright & playful yet minimal’ theme I’m aiming for. These were created with a simple Copic marker – some made it to the final designs whereas others didn’t.

IMG_2677IMG_2701IMG_2871IMG_8683IMG_9246

I chose to use a bunch of the lines because they fit the vibe I previously explained – I then used photoshop’s layer mask to isolate them and create smart objects. After, I aligned them into the rectangular shape I’d envisioned as the ‘trademark’ page markers of the brochure:

Finally content with this, I began to implement it into my page design, as well as finding suitable images, quotes, facts, fonts and recipes:

I finally settled for the fonts “Verdana” for it’s bold yet somehow un-harsh appearance, “Baskerville” because of it’s soft serif and easy readability, “Daisy’s Delight” for the whimsical vibe and “Prestige Elite STD” to set the matter-of-fact tone when it comes to the facts.

Alongside the lines and ‘crayon’ appearance, I wanted something a little more easy on the eyes.  Vector art always looks nice when it comes to food – or to be more precise, food cut in half – there are many beautiful patterns that occur within the centre of the plant.

 

Above are the vector drawings, I had mixed feelings at first because I thought the contrast/opposition of the vector images mixed with the ‘crayon’ style of the lines would be too much.

I implemented these as such:
Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 15.27.33Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 18.37.11Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 22.38.30Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 01.07.27Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 01.08.42Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 01.08.56

I first began by figuring out sections ans colours for said sections, using both the vectors to mark a new section, using the ‘Polaroid’ to create variety and also the family friendly vibe.
Minimalism was key when designing this, at first I thought that so much empty space was bad, but then I came to like the space.
Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 13.14.17.png
Thank You for reading, next shall be the animal cruelty guide…

G

Leave a Reply

