Research & Influences

Hello there 🙂

So I’ve been thinking of what I am going to do for my outcome and though I have a few good ideas, I feel the need to draw inspiration from the contemporary work of other artistic individuals.

I have been looking into various artists, film makers, photographers and designers who’s styles appear influential to me – their concepts sometimes also appeal, but seems thoughI pretty much have my concept set in stone from the Critical Studies essay, their concepts are not of the greatest importance to me. Continue reading to view the creatives I have drawn inspiration from while creating this project:
Brock Elbank:
“Brock Elbank is a photographer. Born in England, currently living in the London, United Kingdom. He received media attention in 2013 for his photo series #Project60.” – Wikipedia

(All images from http://mrelbank.tumblr.com/)
I chose to look at Brock Elbank’s work mainly because of a couple of projects he did: One focusing on freckles and the other one stitching the heads of children onto the bodies of tattooed adults. For me the freckles are great, they showcase something that some people see as an imperfection in a whole new and beautiful light. Looking at the other images involving children seemingly sporting tattoos, the concept could mean anything. I have not researched into the true meaning on purpose, because I first came to the conclusion that Brock was trying to show how children want want to be like adults. I like this theory, and I love the way he has portrayed it.

Mihaela Noroc:
Mihaela Noroc is responsible for ‘The Atlas of Beauty’ – one of the most enthralling and stunning interpretations of the word ‘beauty’.

(All images http://theatlasofbeauty.com/)
‘Oh my gosh’ is all I said when I came across this gem of a portfolio. Mihaela Noroc travels the world in search of ‘true beauty’ – only to have the view that it is subjective and effectively different to each and every beholder. And I agree.
This collection of beautiful people shows just how diverse this world is and that no matter what you believe to be beautiful, there will always be something out there to surprise you.

Audrey Kawasaki:
“Audrey Kawasaki is a Los Angeles-based painter, known for her distinctive, erotically charged portrayals of young, adolescent women.” – Wikipedia


(All images from http://www.audrey-kawasaki.com/)
Any person who’s seen my blog before is probably not shocked to find Audrey on this list, this is one of my favourite artists of all time and no matter what I seem to do, I always find her work inspirational.
In this instance, I have been looking at her approach to femininity – Audrey’s paintings are almost always of young girls in erotic, dreamlike settings, this mixture of young and mature is interesting, it fits perfectly with my Critical Studies research.

Jenny Saville:
“Jenny Saville RA is a contemporary British painter associated with the Young British Artists. She is known for her large-scale painted depictions of nude women. Saville works and lives in Oxford, England.”- Wikipedia

(All images copyright Jenny Saville)
I have always had conflicted feelings towards Jenny’s work – I mean it’s amazing, but disturbing at the same time. Whether it’s the fleshy nature of her images, or the fact that women are contorting themselves into unnatural positions that somewhat unsettles me, I am not sure. It is these exact qualities that have inspired me this time, the maltreatment of one’s own body has given me plenty ideas on how a female may think of herself – or picture herself the way she’s not.

Henry Selick:

“Henry Selick (born November 30, 1952) is an American stop motion director, producer and writer who is best known for directing The Nightmare Before Christmas, James and the Giant Peach and Coraline. He studied at the Program in Experimental Animation at California Institute of the Arts, under the guidance of Jules Engel.” – Wikipedia

(All images screenshots of the movie OR via Wikipedia)
This one may come as a little bit of a random surprise… and by that I mean the movie Coraline (directed by Henry Selick), it doesn’t seem to really fit in with the topic at hand. But to me, it really does, let me explain.
Within the movie, the protagonist Coraline is unhappy with her life as it is – boring, colourless, rainy etc. However, everything changes when Coraline gets lured into another world where she meets her ‘other mother’ who spoils her, giving her everything and anything that might make Coraline happy. All is well, until of course Coraline realises that not everything in the other world is as nice as it seems – and that having everything you want in life is often more dangerous than wanting for.
Basically I find this child’s perception on the world and on getting what she wants very interesting, also the design, setting and storyline of this movie are also stunning.

Thank you for reading!

I’ll see you next time,

G

 

Leave a Reply

