P.D.P – Personal Mark

Starting off I have captured some screenshots of my existing site and logo.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 13.03.07Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.52.30

Above I have included a couple of screenshots of my website. As you can see, my site is very mountain/spruce orientated, hence why I am now using this little mountain mark you see below:

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.07.48

This mark is something I created rather quickly as I was running short on time for a previous deadline and is, in fact, acting more as a filler for where my real logo shall go.

For the professional design project, we are required to create our own business cards, letter heads and a CV. For this I wanted to re-design my personal mark. I have already considered lots of different marks in previous posts for different projects, so I have included some of those in this one too as they are still relevant and still for the same purpose.
As my mark will be representing me as a brand, it’ll be seen by everyone who visits my site, receives a letter from me or picks up one of my business cards – this is the reason I want it to have significance and be memorable, not just another couple of fancy letters on a piece of paper.

Below you can see LOAADS of different sketches of ideas for my logo, these are rather messy, but this is how my mind works:

image3image2image1image4

As you can see, I haven’t strayed too far from the original sketches, and that’s because I still like and am considering them.

After careful contemplation, I decided to ditch the idea of using more letters for my logo, the reason being because I also have a logotype that I use on my website. This is when the idea of using the most personal thing to me came to mind… my signature. This solves the idea of having a personal mark that doesn’t consist of my initials. After writing my signature over and over and over again I decided to write it in silver pen paint. This turned out the perfect width and colour, so I began to experiment:

Because I have decided to go with a metallic silver finish, I created several versions of my marque so that it could be used on any colour paper, and also have the silver finish for more formal stationary.
It has always been pretty much set in stone that my stationary shall have a black background… this is because it’s my favourite colour (if you can call it a colour), and it goes will well… everything.
The final result for my business card & development is below:

I sorted all of the colour changes in Photoshop and used the pen tool to ‘cut out’ the background of my logo.

The final result is as follows:

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 02.36.28Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 02.36.18Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 02.36.10

I have displayed two front covers here, one black and white, and one is a mock up of what it might look like with black card and a silver logo. The writing on the back (kept simple because I like it that way) would also have the silver, but it’s a little too meticulous to edit in the same way I did in the logotype – this is a job for the printers I decide to use.

Foil-Blocked-Business-Card-Designs-21.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this segment, see you in my next post!

G

Leave a Reply

