Deciding on a topic

So far I have come up with the following ideas for my essay topic:

Explore all media – Pick a topic and portray it several different ways using creative media of my choice, eg sound, video, photo, art, writing, design and maybe typography.
Curating
Explore what is dearest to people/what makes a person
People’s personal wonder cabinets/how life experiences changes what’s inside them
Finding myself/my style
Life story/short biographies/my biography?
Short story of a thing/creative writing
Earth – everything in one place
Exploration of the unknown/supernatural/death
How different people see the same subject/topic
Why we perceive things as scary/inviting/beautiful
Exploration of emotions
Exploring videography & directing (links to the video in the homepage of my site – could help improve this
Character design/story structure
Digital Painting

It’s pretty safe to say that these needed narrowing down… a lot. I have put the few that interest me the most below for you to see:

  • Exploring videography & directing (links to the video in the homepage of my site – could help improve this)
  • Explore all media – Pick a topic and portray it several different ways using creative media of my choice, eg sound, video, photo, art, writing, design and maybe typography.
  • Short stories/creative writing

The reason I have chosen the above topics is mainly because I feel as if Video and Creative Writing are the topics I am lacking most when it comes to the portfolio of my website. Completing any of these briefs will help expand not only my portfolio but also my knowledge and skills within an area that will be of use to me.

Exploring videography & directing” Has always been something I would like to explore more, one of the main reasons being that my website’s homepage is a giant video, and a rather amateur one to say the least. Exploring video will allow me to discover new editing and filming techniques to really portray beauty and a story through just a simple video that contains no sound.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 13.03.07.png

Short stories/creative writing” This doesn’t have a very broad spectrum, though as I mentioned before I would really like to work on my story telling/writing skills.

Explore all media” will let me improve my skills throughout all media, though I think doing this subject for the sake of it will be a little pointless, that’s when I had the idea to incorporate all three ideas I am interested into what at first, seemed a little messy.
What is the best way to tell a story? – this is the question I shall be basing my essay and research upon.

Thank you for reading 🙂

One thought on “Deciding on a topic

  1. Pingback: 2 Steps to Become Good Writer | The Cognitive Backyard

Leave a Reply

