Development Continued

Hello again 🙂

Continuing with my development:
I decided to only have a video slider on one of my pages – the homepage. To keep the theme of mountains and cold fluent through the website I chose headers. This is a pretty easy way of keeping things consistent and beautiful at the same time – while also showing off some travel and photography in the process.
Below you can see the beginnings of my Portfolio page. I simply went to the page I created and edited the header as shown below.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 16.53.52.png

Though there were no real portfolio items I filled the space with duds so I could see what the layout of the page would look like once the media was inserted. I chose the masonry style for it’s clean and imposing appearance – it really effectively displays your work and makes it look good in the process.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 16.56.40.png
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 16.56.31.png
Above you can see me carrying on the theme of mountains via the header on two other pages. You can see in the top left hand corner I have a little logo made up – the workings of this temporary logo are below –


I used my love of mountains as a basis for this logo, everything I came up with was a little too elaborate for my liking and the outline of a simple mountain would suit me better for the time being. As I am not fully developed as a designer I am not 100% comfortable with designing my logo as of yet because I feel it might be subject to change as my style adapts.
The logo is below, I used Illustrator to draw it out:
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.07.48.png

As for the little tab logo I somehow got stuck with this as a tester…. though it has kind of grown on me, maybe because I used this image as the cover for my Rebel Corporate Manual which is my favourite ever project.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.03.55.png

Next on the list was my blog. As you can see this began as what one would quite simply call a MESS. Things were everywhere, nothing lined up… though I got there in the end.
Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 02.07.28.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 02.07.28.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 14.02.56.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 02.26.31.png
First thing was first – as you can see in the screenshots above I moved all of the categories and sub categories into the correct places to create the menu and dropdown for the blog. Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 15.19.44.pngScreen Shot 2015-11-09 at 15.20.50.png

This is when I created a fake post and sorted the background, layout and the headers out. This will the the style I use for all of my posts on this site. I also took an image to use on the bottom of my posts page – this reenforces the snowy look and also creates something good to look at instead of simply a white page.

As I mentioned in the previous post I wanted to stray away from the same old pink theme I had in the last site. To discern the colour scheme I sampled colours from the pictures I took in the French Alps.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.37.08.png
Above is how the menu looks now – smaller and much less garish and pink.

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 14.35.46.png

Another feature I decided to add after was the widget in my secondary menu that comes out from the side. It is stylish nowadays to have your entire menu in this little space though I prefer mine the way it is as it allows for my logo to be present and for the video to have an overlay.

When it came to saving most of my images, I did it this way using the Legacy option. This greatly increases the speed at which my site runs and I’m happy with it.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.18.14.png

After sorting out all of my pages I decided that the only ones that would have a different (non-header) layout would be the HomePage and the Contact/About page – actually the Contact/About page is the one I struggle with the most.
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.42.06.png
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.41.43.png

Above is the same page screenshotted on different monitors – as you can see the background image is subject to change. I don’t despise this…. though it is something I will certainly find help to fix in the future.
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.47.34.png

Here is the screenshot of the same page, but at the back end. I chose to use visual editor because it is easy to use and very effective at letting you visualise what your site will look like in the front end.

The finished product is something I’m rather proud of – I feel I have successfully created MY site because it screams everything that I hold dear in terms of values. The homepage contains memories, travel, photoshoots and serves to grant people an insight to how things work – almost like an aesthetically appealing teaser.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.51.50.png
The Blog is full of my favourite things to do in my spare time, it’s somewhere people can get a feel for what I like to do in my spare time – I’m planning to upload tutorials and the likes too for helping people who might be interested in doing what I do.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.52.20.png
The portfolio is really the heart of the site in my eyes – it contains my body of work that I must say I am proud of. I particularly like the layout of the masonry items, it’s versatile and works well with the rest of the site despite being so different.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.52.30.pngI get asked why I included “meet the models” a lot, and the reason being is that I hate seeing people on the web and being like who is that with no way to find out. This is my way of not only giving my models their own little space on my site as appreciation, but it also to let people see behind the pictures and into their minds a little.
Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.52.43.png
Finally is the Contact/About page which I talked a little bit about before. It’s the only page I’m not 100% satisfied with because of that blasted image but nothing can be done yet. Otherwise I like it because it is personal to me.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 17.42.06.png

Thank you so very much for following my process from start to finish and I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did! The link to my website is below:

http://georgiamay.co.uk/

Summary:
As a whole I really enjoyed this project. I feel it allowed me to really explore my style as a designer and improve my skills in web design. It really was a challenge but in the end I think the result was pretty good! I look forward to seeing what the next challenge will be.
Thanks again and, until next time, goodbye ^.^

Leave a Reply

