How we see Shapes and Colours

This post is in response to two lectures delivered by Mark, both of which are looking at how shapes and colours are perceived by us and how they can affect the things around us.

The reason I am completing this post before moving onto my development for the brief is because I think this could give me a better idea how to use colours and form to my advantage when deciding how I will visually portray each word of my choosing.

To start off with I shall be looking at the connotations of shapes. In the notes below (sorry about the bad quality) you can see everything Mark told us about how we see shapes. To summarise we talked about how different shapes trigger different feelings and responses from us, even when they are incorporated into other media . For example the spiky shape made us all think of danger and discomfort, the circle we agreed to be soft, quiet and cute whereas the rectangle seemed slender, strong and composed while somehow remaining classy.

Photo on 22-10-2014 at 14.40 Photo on 22-10-2014 at 14.40 #2
(
These are my photos & work)

Shapes are everywhere whether we notice it or not, skyscrapers are assertive and tall, strong but modern and high class. Their vertical structure shows structural integrity and authority, this is shown a lot in the political world also, if you notice that most banks and town halls (buildings of importance/law) have tall vertical columns showing their importance and their unmovable stature, particularly in society. Similarly the men who work in banks and buildings of the sort often wear striped suits to show their unquestionable authority.

sss ssssT1VY2vXjRmXXb3O030_035009Panorama_of_United_States_Supreme_Court_Building_at_Dusk
http://ayay.co.uk/background/buildings_and_landmarks/tallest/singapore-skyscrapers/
http://vincentloy.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/origin-of-the-word-skyscraper/
http://www.engineeringcivil.com/theory/gallery-skyscrapers/page/4

On the contrary there are things of other stature in this world too, such as animals, one of my favourite examples is the porcupine and how it’s shaped with it’s spines to look dangerous, this is it’s defence mechanism and way of warding off other animals who might pray on it. Nature uses shapes and colours more than us humans, every animal is specifically designed for it’s particular purpose, for example giraffes have long necks to reach leaves in the Savannah just like Tree Frogs are designed with wide-spread feet to grip tree trunks. Their form is also used to tell other animals about their purpose, whether that be to invoke an emotion (like for mating purposes) or instinct to kill.
rothschild-giraffe-dupont-350rectangle-2_coloring_page_png_468x609_q85column_how-do-i-keep-porcupines-away Vibe-Harsloef-s-Spiky-Jewelry_articleimage
http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/extinction-countdown/2013/11/24/sunday-species-snapshot-rothschilds-giraffe/
http://gossip-me-style.blogspot.co.uk/2009/09/can-i-vibe-with-you.html

I can use this information to my advantage whilst creating the visual representations of each word.
I will keep in mind the relation to different shapes people subconsciously have, for example if I want my word portrayal to look dangerous and intimidating, I might use a daring and dangerous shape such as a spike or a slim, pointy triangle. If I want something to look elegant and inviting I may use an upright rectangle or a ‘combined shape’ such as a circle mixed with a rectangle.

Now for colour.

Photo on 22-10-2014 at 14.41
(My photo & Work)

Basically this is a list of colours (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet, white) and what words/feelings/objects we associate with each colour. I like this way of thinking because it maps out in simple terms what the colours portrays even if it is combined with others in a photograph for example, in response to this I can ‘predict’ what emotion/aura my images will emit. Say I’m wanting my image to look eerie and dark, I would choose a colour from the colour wheel to the right (see below), maybe a deep blue to create the dingy mood and creepy atmosphere. If I wanted my image to speak ‘innocence’, I would go for one of the colours on the left wheel (below), possibly a pink or yellow because they are both childish and enlightening colours that make you feel airy and free.
In relation to my previous doodles from the lector what I didn’t mention was how the darkness/lightness of colours can really effect the message they give – an example of this is dark blue speaks business and authority while a lighter powder blue is something cute and innocent that would appear on a child.

images (1) images
http://www.major-confusion.co.uk/tutorials/webplus/rgb_tint_colwheel.html

Now putting these factors into practice for the “Beauty” word I have decided to do. I needed to create an innocent and “raw beauty” feel that could then be destroyed by the lines for the surgeries that would make the models more “beautiful” in the eyes of the media. I then used what I learned from the lecture (and this research) to decide the best colour for the job. A light colour was the best choice to portray femininity and elegance but I thought white (the obvious choice) was too innocent and saintly. I wanted something a little more poised like pink or purple. Both these colours give the feeling of warmth but still have a mysterious side to them. Purple wasn’t light enough so I decided on pink. The resulting photo below (THIS IS MY PHOTOGRAPHY, HAIR, MAKEUP) includes light pink makeup and roses, the perfect combo for the beautiful look I was aiming to insult with the surgery lines.

IMG_9461

I looked at some other people’s notes on shape and colour:
http://www.cns.nyu.edu/~david/courses/perception/lecturenotes/depth/depth-size.html
http://changingminds.org/disciplines/communication/color_effect.htm

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

