DIY Structure Creative Process

More on how I made my structure, step by step.

IMG_8891 IMG_8886 IMG_9091 IMG_9094

I carried on using common household items to my advantage, here I show myself shaping one of the main arteries by sculpting around a glue stick. I chose to use these materials because they are more convenient and easily obtainable then anything professional I could’ve bought online.
Next is a before and after on the baking tray, I heated the soft clay for 40 minuets as instructed, however I burnt the surface slightly and it lost it’s fleshy appearance though still eerily resembled a human heart in pigment and shape.
I am very pleased with how the result turned out, I have never used this material before and I surprised myself at the outcome. I can now say I’m rather proud.

IMG_8858 IMG_8862 copy IMG_8876 IMG_8877

After the clay had cooled I placed it on the chrome plated copper pipe I managed to find in a store, I then used the Bronze Effect outdoor paint to spray the heart, I waited 20 minuets between coats as instructed and did a total of three coats. I then marked out the places to be drilled after snipping the knitting needles in half with pliers.

IMG_9101 IMG_9103

Afterwards I mixed an incredibly strong super glue called Araldite and began glueing the halved knitting needles into the drilled holes, leaving me with a rather spiky heart…
IMG_9099

Then began the difficult process of working with wire when your finger is bandaged…

IMG_9109 IMG_9112
I used the same Araldite to glue some little coils I found in John Lewis to the tip of the knitting needles. After this was dry I proceeded to add the aluminium wire, I cut it into several pieces so it was easier to work with (sort of) and webbed it all around the coils to create the technological shell I had being envisioning.

The final product will be in my next post!! ^^

Leave a Reply

